The School

The School

Candler School of Theology is a professional school of Emory University and one of 13 official seminaries of The United Methodist Church. Founded by the Methodist Episcopal Church, South, in 1914, the school became part of Emory when the university was chartered in 1915, occupying the first building on the Atlanta campus.

The theology school offers programs leading to master of divinity, master of theological studies, master of religion and public life, master of religious leadership, master of theology, doctor of ministry, and doctor of theology degrees as well as a number of dual degree programs. The school also provides continuing educational opportunities for clergy, church professionals, and lay persons. Degree programs associated with the work of the theology school include dual degree programs with Emory’s Goizueta Business School, Laney Graduate School and Center for Ethics, Rollins School of Public Health, and Emory Law School, the University of Georgia School of Social Work, and the doctoral program in religion, offered through Emory’s Graduate Division of Religion.

The fall 2017 enrollment of 455 students reflected a wide range of interests, with 284 students in the master of divinity program, 11 in the master of religious leadership program, 10 in the master of religion and public life program, 36 in the master of theological studies program, 26 in the master of theology program, 75 in the doctor of ministry program, 5 in the doctor of theology program, and 8 in special status. Among the 231 men and 224 women were 197 United Methodists and representatives of more than 39 denominations.

Candler is accredited by the Association of Theological Schools in the United States and Canada, and the University Senate of The United Methodist Church.

Candler Deans

  • Plato T. Durham 1914–1919
  • Franklin Nutting Parker 1919–1937
  • Henry Burton Trimble 1937–1953
  • William Ragsdale Cannon 1953–1968
  • James T. Laney 1969–1977
  • James Waits 1978–1991
  • R. Kevin LaGree 1991–1999
  • Russell E. Richey 2000–2006
  • Jan Love 2007–present

Emory University

Founded in 1836, Emory is a coeducational, privately controlled university affiliated with The United Methodist Church. As a national center for teaching, research, and service, Emory enrolls more than 14,000 students and awards more than 4,000 degrees annually. In addition to Candler School of Theology, the university comprises Emory College; Oxford College; the James T. Laney School of Graduate Studies; and, the Schools of Law, Business, Medicine, Nursing, and Public Health.

Among the centers for specialized research and study at Emory are The Carter Center of Emory University, the James T. Laney School of Graduate Studies, the Emory Center for Ethics, and the Michael C. Carlos Museum. Campus-based independent affiliates include the American Academy of Religion; the Society of Biblical Literature; the Emory Center for Myth and Ritual in American Life; and the Center for the Study of Law and Religion.

Emory is expanding its international programs and opportunities to rise to the challenge of globalization. This effort underscores the university’s conviction that a liberal arts education in the twenty-first century must embrace global perspectives and enhance cross-cultural understanding. Emory is committed to training its students to pursue their professions and live their lives in a world that is fast becoming a global neighborhood. Schools within the university have strong international and global components in their curricula. A growing number of international scholars are teaching and conducting research at Emory; professors from Emory are pursuing scholarly research and service abroad, and their students gain from their experiences, insights, and broadened perspectives. The enrollment of international students is rising. Emory faculty and students are participating in Carter Center action programs in developing countries. Mutually beneficial linkage agreements with foreign universities present challenging opportunities. Substantial new funding is stimulating exciting initiatives in global education.

Candler School of Theology is accredited by the Commission on Accrediting of the Association of Theological Schools in the United States and Canada, and the following degree programs are approved: MDiv, MRL, MRPL*, MTS, ThM, DMin, and ThD (10 Summit Park Drive, Pittsburgh, PA, 15275, telephone 412.788.6510).

Emory University is accredited by the Commission on Colleges of the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools, 1866 Southern Lane, Decatur, Georgia 30033, telephone 404.679.4501, to award degrees at the associate, bachelor’s, master’s, and doctoral levels.